Surfers on Santa Teresa beach in Costa Rica on a beautiful sunny day

Costa Rica

Costa Rica is a beautiful island in the Caribbean Sea. It’s bordered by Panama to the south and Nicaragua to the north. The country is about the size of West Virginia and has a population of just under 5 million people. Costa Rica is divided into seven provinces: Alajuela, Cartago, Guanacaste, Heredia, Limon, Puntarenas, and San Jose.

A unique blend of Native American, Spanish, and African influences, the Ticos (Costa Ricans) have a rich culture that is expressed in their music, art, food, and way of life. The official language is Spanish, but English is also widely spoken.